The Kiss

feast-of-the-holy-trinity-32-728

Picture used from Google.com images

“Greet one another with a loving kiss. Peace to all of you who are in Christ.”

 1Peter 5:14

I have often thought how amazing my life would be and how great the world could be if we took the advice of Peter and all of us who love the Lord would greet each other with a loving kiss. Some translations say holy kiss. What an awesome gift that would be to say I love you Lord as I love my brother and sister in Christ as you command!

When I read this again in today’s first reading from 1Peter, I know just how uncomfortable that makes me feel. My journey in life has been filled with lustful and impure thoughts. I am very guilty of looking at women as objects and not always with the dignity each woman deserves from me for God’s glory. And kissing a man as a greeting goes so against my upbringing by the world’s standards I grew up with. By the grace of God I have grown much in this area seeking to see men and women in the image of God that we are created to be.

So why am I uncomfortable with this passage? Isn’t it a great way to bring the love and intimacy of the peace of Jesus to each other? It is! God wants it but the world wants nothing to do with it. I am still bombarded with impurity everywhere I look. It seems to have become the norm and frankly, that temptation is always before me.

In my life journey and especially in my writing and sharing groups I have been involved in, I have tried to be open to listen and to share as intimately as I can. With that being said, thoughts always run through my mind that others who know me may not trust me. I do leave that in God’s hands as I can only move forward in his grace. But unfortunately, it still causes me to be very cautious when greeting others with a loving kiss.

Lord, may you remove the barriers in my life and the lives of all your children that we may bring your peace to each other with the greeting of a loving kiss. May it always be for your glory, in your love and far from the sins of the flesh. I ask this in the holy name of Jesus. Amen.

Mike Burke; Monday, April 25, 2016
The Kiss

4 thoughts on “The Kiss

  1. Peter is giving us a challenge – to really love each other, that is, to care about the true welfare of each other without being afraid to express this care, or love. So, think about how an old grandmother reaches down to kiss her grandson with a big, dry kiss on the cheek.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

