Bearing Good Fruit

pruners-600px_nancyteaguegrowinginfullness.png

How many times have I heard that the Father is the vine grower, Jesus is the vine and I am one of many branches? It is easy for me to gloss over this but today I am hearing some sober news for me. I have shared before that the music and time I dedicate for God’s glory in the church is a way that God uses me as a branch to bear good fruit. It is a great blessing for me to use this passion for music that I have to praise and glorify my Lord.

There are also simple gifts I have been given such as kindness. It is easy for me to smile and uplift others. I see goodness in others and am growing to have patience and acceptance of those with different opinions and life views. And because I am attached to the vine I receive his joy and his peace.

The sober part of this great gift of being a branch of the Father and Son is that recently I have been making some choices, old habits that for me are not good. I plainly hear Jesus speaking to me; Anyone who does not remain in me will be thrown out like a branch and wither; people will gather them and throw them into a fire and they will be burned.” (John 15:6) It saddens me when I offend God yet a great grace given me is that I believe I can throw myself into his ocean of mercy and I hope to drown in it as I read, “Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit, because without me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5) And recently, I have been doing nothing on my own.

I am so thankful when I am awakened by the Word of God. I want to bear good fruit and pruning is necessary for me to bear good fruit. Jesus tells me that I am pruned by his Word and today I have felt some pain. “If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask for whatever you want and it will be done for you.” (John 15:7) And Lord, what I ask is that I may do your will to produce good fruit to glorify the Father in your Holy Name. Amen.

Mike Burke; Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Picture from Google.com images
Bearing Good Fruit

9 thoughts on “Bearing Good Fruit

  1. So that’s what is was…last year when I lost my job, my house, my savings, my credit, my credibility, my friends, and nearly my life…I was being pruned… topped out, and cut back.

    Well, I must say, a whole lot more fresh air and sunshine is being let in. The new growth seems to be good and strong.

    I’ll let God and others evaluate the quality of my fruit (my writing, my taking care of my next door neighbors, etc.).

    If I focus on my own wake (to mix a few metaphors), to evaluate how well I’m doing, then I’m not watching where I’m going and could hit a stump or run aground.

    In the past, I have become addicted to the validation (praise, thanks, compliments, etc.) So now I just keep my eyes to the next task and my feet and hands moving without regard to ‘stats’ or pings or whatever.

    To throw in another metaphor (from cooking; specifically, to smoking meat) “If I’m lookin’, it ain’t cookin.”

    Thanks be to God, and to God be the Glory.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Kitsy, no reference ever necessary. We are on a journey together and I think God’s Spirit is moving us and we are doing our best to surrender to his will. Your writing glorifies God by sharing your story, the good, the bad, the ugly but most of all the journey and faith!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

