Keep My Commandments

1_cg

Anyone else besides me have problems keeping the Commandments of Jesus? In the Gospel today, Jesus says; “As the Father loves me, so I also love you. Remain in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love.” (John 15:9-10)

We might think of the Ten Commandments or the Beatitudes but I think Jesus gave us a very simple but not an easy way to keep God’s Commandments. One, love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength and two, love your neighbor as yourself. Jesus also tells us to love one another as I have loved you.

So I share, probably too often when I write, that I am a horrible sinner. Without God’s grace, I am capable of anything. United with his grace, I know there is mercy when I do not cooperate with the gifts I am given and repent. I have found great peace sharing my love for others and seek being merciful as Jesus is merciful. It is really pretty awesome.

Here is my story today. A friend came to me and showed me a picture of her proposing to her female partner. She was so happy! She has been going through trials and to see her smile with tears in her eyes was a great blessing. I got up and hugged her and told her how happy I was for her and how great it was to see her so happy. Her partner also arrived and I did the same with her.

Now I know my faith pretty well and believe in all the teachings of the church. I have no doubt that this is not God’s will for marriage. I chose to love at that moment the way I think God would love me with great mercy. My friend knows my love for the Lord and if I had to guess might have even been apprehensive to share her great news with me.

Did I sin by my actions? Am I misunderstanding to “forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us?” I look back at my life and realize how wrong my perceptions were in my ignorance yet God has loved me and brought me to this point of my life where I do love him with all my heart, soul, mind and strength. I do not always love well as I am unfaithful in my sin but God is always faithful. For now, I think I did the right thing. Lord, let us all keep searching for truth with the help of your grace. Amen.

Picture from Google.com images
Mike Burke; Thursday, April 28, 2016
Keep My Commandments

5 thoughts on “Keep My Commandments

  1. Yes, I agree with you. Just think, you might be the only Jesus they see, in your love and compassion for them as people, not their actions, but them. We all have besetting sins, some are just more visible than others, and besides only the indwelling of the Holy Spirit can change individuals from the inside out, and surely rejection or condemnation will not.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I believe you did the right thing. I don’t think we will be judged for not judging. Quite the contrary. And I know we will not be judged negatively for loving.

    I touch on my reluctance to judge such relationships in “Attacking Hate is My Mission.”. I described how I am in no position to judge anyone…which is a safe place to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kitsy. I know I can never judge someone’s heart but sometimes I think there is a line with actions. My biggest concern is not to push people further from a God who loves them so much. So I will continue to pray for the wisdom, knowledge and understanding of the Holy Spirit to guide me and help me grow.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mike, you did the right thing showing love and compassion. What goes on in a person’s life, in their heart and soul, is between them and God. Even Pope Francis said, “Who am I to judge?” You can love a person and simultaneously not approve of their actions. We do it all the time (or should). Too many times, people get the two mixed up. By not reacting in an uptight, super-judgmental, unloving way, you showed Christianity in a good light. I am sure that Jesus socialized with homosexuals when He was here on earth, even though they would not have been “out in the open” about it — but Jesus would have known. He never shunned people, even when they did things of which He could not approve. He knew that it was only through love that He could reach and heal them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

