Persecution And Singing Joyful Praise

mic

Two passages I would like to briefly reflect on today. The first from the Gospel of John 15: 20-21 says Remember the word I spoke to you, ‘No slave is greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you. If they kept my word, they will also keep yours. And they will do all these things to you on account of my name, because they do not know the one who sent me.”

I believe that with all my heart but I still think I am in a beginning stage of persecution because I accept people where they are and tend not to rock the boat unless I am asked to proclaim my belief so people are more accepting of my loving acceptance. In my path to Jesus, I have been shown and given his mercy beyond belief. My heart tells me to love my brothers and sisters and extend God’s mercy. I trust in the Holy Spirit to guide me but sometimes I am left with should I have said this or done that?  What I am learning to do is to continue praying and trust that he is making good out of all my feeble efforts.

The second passage is from Psalm 100: 1-2 which says; “A Psalm of thanksgiving. Sing joyfully to the LORD, all you lands; serve the LORD with gladness; come before him with joyful song.”

Coming from me a musician with my commitment to sing for God’s glory, this passage lights me up! To be thankful, to sing with great joy and gladness and do as he asks to come before him singing with joy, I will do it until he says no more! Sometimes, my will unites with the will of God and that is something to reflect on. I usually spend much time reflecting on my flaws and not that I do not have flaws in the praising of my Lord with song, but I have been given a gift, a passion and a way to praise the Lord that is uniquely mine and that is awesome! Thank you Jesus! Amen.

Image from https://oldchristianmusic.wordpress.com/ on google.com images
Mike Burke; Saturday, April 30, 2016
Persecution And Singing Joyful Praise

Leave a Reply

