The Consequences Of Speaking

aid141534-700px-Speak-Your-Mind-Step-4

Today the church celebrates the Feast of Saints Philip and James, Apostles. In reading the Gospel passage from John 14: 6-14, Philip speaks out to Jesus and says Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.” It is a big request and how does Jesus respond? “Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? It almost seems like Jesus has lost his patience with Philip. But we know Jesus is a lover.

Think about our own conversations especially with children who never seem to get it. We shake our head and keep on talking hoping they grow up and learn. I think it is much like that with us and Jesus. Our loving Father, through Jesus continues to love and speak to us and listens to our futile words, still helping us to learn and grow.

A fellow blogger and I were conversing today. She put her thoughts out there on a hot topic issue on her blog and was met with some persecution. When we share our hearts and minds, about anything, there will be consequences. Good or bad, with God and the power of the Holy Spirit, it will all be brought to glorify God. We may suffer some or not but the glory of God will be made known.

I worked for many years for a professional baseball team. At lunch one day, we were talking about the greatest hitters in the game. A well-known, famous, hall of famer sat down with us. When I shared my thoughts, I was blasted with four letter words and really belittled for my opinion. Who was I compared to this hall of fame great? My words had consequences and today I am strengthened by that moment. It is God’s grace that allows me to know that he is right there with me, teaching me to love even the person that strikes my cheek. Believe it or not, it’s a pretty awesome memory! I thank God and give him all the glory for that gift. I didn’t like being spoken to that way so to remember that neither do others want to be spoken to like that so I must always speak with love. Memo to me: Speak the truth with love! Saints Philip and James, pray for us!

Image from http://www.wikihow.com/Speak-Your-Mind on google.com images
Mike Burke; Tuesday, May 2, 2016
The Consequences Of Speaking

5 thoughts on “The Consequences Of Speaking

  1. ” teaching me to love even the person that strikes my cheek ”

    I don’t know the subject of your remarks to that HOF-er, but, I daresay, in addition to your growing in strength to love, your composure may have implanted a grain of sand that day that in time might have irritated him and resulted in a pearl of wisdom in his own soul.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I’ve done it now; I responded thus to the latest post on Equipping the Saints:

        ” If my people, which are called by my name, shall condemn, attack, accuse, and ignore my son’s commandments then will I hear from heaven, and will I wonder where all this hate is coming from. Don’t they know that my son gave his commandment because only love can turn a heart around. Don’t they know that threats and accusations turn desperate souls away from me? Soften your hearts and appeal to the desperate and fearful in love.”

        Let’s see if it gets approved. I’ll probably get slammed for manipulating scripture.

        Like

      2. Sometimes I think, especially on social media, the loving thing to do may be to just let it go. Writing back and forth limits the conveying of love. Just a thought.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

