Hope In Jesus

Hope-in-the-Lord

I could not help but feel hope while reading today’s Gospel of John 16: 20-23. You probably can come up with many times when things were not going well, were stressed out or were just wanting to give up as the mountain seemed too steep to keep climbing. It’s finals on the college campus I work on and our students are stressed, filled with anxiety and pretty much on edge. It gives me an opportunity to be Jesus in their lives with smiles, encouragement, pats on the back and just loving and caring for each of them.

Jesus says:

You will weep and mourn, while the world rejoices; you will grieve, but your grief will become joy. So you also are now in anguish. But I will see you again, and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy away from you. On that day you will not question me about anything.

Recently, I have been hearing this a lot from Jesus. “Whatever you ask the Father in my name he will give you.” It is hard for me to tell you honestly that I believe Jesus because I do not pray like I believe it. I am honest in my conversation and prayer with Jesus but there is something that holds me back when it comes to asking. Maybe it is still too much of the sin of pride in me that I can handle these little things and no reason to bother Jesus. I should stop thinking that way and bring it all before the Father in the name of Jesus.

As I said earlier, I feel a great sense of hope and look forward to being more dependent on the Lord and see where he leads me. And with our world being in such tumult and the United States facing many issues and problems, it might be best for me to fervently pray and ask our Father, in the name of Jesus, for the love, peace and mercy that Jesus continues to tell us that he wants to give. We surely need it.

Image from quotesgram.com on google.com images
Mike Burke; Friday, May 6, 2016
Hope In Jesus

4 thoughts on “Hope In Jesus

  1. I don’t know if you noticed, but I borrowed from your scriptural quote and used it in my post “Rubber meets the Road.”

    I also want to echo your words, ” And with our world being in such tumult and the United States facing many issues and problems, it might be best for me to fervently pray and ask our Father, in the name of Jesus, for the love, peace and mercy that Jesus continues to tell us that he wants to give. We surely need it.”

    I guess I must enter into the fray; my life has been touched recently by the spiritual warfare going on and I believe I am being called upon to speak out, ready or not…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

