“Do You Believe Now?”

silhouette-question-mark

In reading today’s Gospel from John 16:29-33, I feel peace and comfort. I like my life and the peace I have in it. I believe God has poured his abundant grace upon me. I think about him all the time. I really love our Lord. My life is not void of problems or even great challenges, but I have been given a gift of joy in the Lord that seems to allow me to accept whatever is happening to me.

It was not always like this and if God wills, it can be taken away from me. What I do know is that without God, my life is a mess and with God, my life may still be a little messy but with joy and confidence in him. Today his disciples tell him that finally he is talking plainly and that they believe that he has come from God. To this Jesus replies;

“Do you believe now? Behold, the hour is coming and has arrived when each of you will be scattered to his own home and you will leave me alone. But I am not alone, because the Father is with me. I have told you this so that you might have peace in me. In the world you will have trouble, but take courage, I have conquered the world.”

Two points that give me hope, peace and comfort. First, my marriage has been struggling for many years and I am alone much of my life. But am I really alone? I do not think so because like Jesus has his father with him, I believe I have Jesus with me along with his Mother, his Angels and the Communion of Saints. For me that is very comforting.

Secondly, he tells me that I will have trouble but to take courage because he has conquered the world. I have messed up much in the world and have done a lot of foolish things but I have his Word today and always that he is my merciful Savior who loves me beyond my understanding and he has “my back” in this world. If I truly believe, how can I not have joy and peace in my life? I do believe! Praise to you Lord Jesus Christ! Amen.

Image from http://www.centralhall.info/about/christianity/ on google.com images
Mike Burke; Monday, May 9, 2016
“Do You Believe Now?”

Leave a Reply

