A Prayer From Jesus For Me & You

Jesus-praying

When I pray, speak and listen to my Lord, it can be so moving and it can be pretty bland where I feel like I am just talking to myself and hearing nothing. I have learned not to get discouraged and to trust that regardless of what I am feeling, God is with me. And even in my feeble attempts to pray, I have faith that the Holy Spirit groans in prayer for me and I am well taken care of.

So when I read today’s Gospel from John 17:11-19, I heard Jesus praying for me and for you. It is a pretty awesome prayer! You may think that this is only a prayer for the disciples of Jesus that walked the earth with him, but I believe we are being prayed for today as his disciples. This is his prayer;

“Holy Father, keep them in your name that you have given me, so that they may be one just as we are one. When I was with them I protected them in your name that you gave me, and I guarded them, and none of them was lost except the son of destruction, in order that the Scripture might be fulfilled. But now I am coming to you. I speak this in the world so that they may share my joy completely. I gave them your word, and the world hated them, because they do not belong to the world any more than I belong to the world. I do not ask that you take them out of the world but that you keep them from the Evil One. They do not belong to the world any more than I belong to the world. Consecrate them in the truth. Your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, so I sent them into the world. And I consecrate myself for them, so that they also may be consecrated in truth.” 

Thank you Jesus for loving us as children of God, for protecting us and for saving us from the Evil One. I love you Jesus. Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

Image from http://www.abidenews.com/7-times-jesus-chose-to-pray/ on google.com images
Mike Burke; Wednesday, May 11, 2016
A Prayer From Jesus For Me & You

One thought on “A Prayer From Jesus For Me & You

Leave a Reply

