The Stress Of Life

stressed111

I was thinking as I write today (Friday) how stressful this week has been. I have had meetings and have been mostly silent because I disagree with how some things are being handled but I realize my place on the “food chain” at my work. I received a new computer at work, which I am very thankful but I have lost files or at least cannot find them in the transfer, web settings and passwords starting over and it’s really frustratingly different from the comfort of my old one.

Today is graduation day on the University campus I work on and I arrived at my parking structure at 5:30am to beat the complete parking and traffic chaos that will test the nerves of so many. God bless our graduates!

This week I have been arriving at work at 8:30am and getting home around 9:30pm. Tomorrow, I will be at church to play music for the First Communion Mass at 11am. Rehearsal starts at 9am. Tomorrow evening, I play for the Pentecost Vigil Mass at 5pm. Rehearsal starts at 3pm. On Sunday morning, I play for the 11am Pentecost Mass and rehearsal starts at 9am.

For me this is challenging as I can let the “thoughts” of the immensity of “things” frustrate me. I can make a molehill into a mountain just by thinking about what I have to do. It is not a characteristic that I like about myself but one I am aware of and praying for the grace to better accept what happens in my life.

So I open up today’s Gospel passage from John 15:9-17. And the verse that speaks to me says “It was not you who chose me, but I who chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit that will remain, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name he may give you. This I command you: love one another.” 

Enough said, frustration vanished and a Spirit of Thanksgiving I offer for these blessings in my life. How selfish I can be sometimes. Aren’t we all fortunate we have such a merciful and loving Savior in Jesus? A patient and loving Heavenly Father? And the power of their love in the Holy Spirit living in us? I need nothing more. Amen.

Image from https://theworkingcaregiver.org/2014/04/22/well-meaning-friends-may-cause-stress/ on google.com images
Mike Burke; Saturday, May 14, 2016
The Stress Of Life

3 thoughts on “The Stress Of Life

  1. I know exactly what you mean, Mike. I have had a rough week, too, in fact a rough six months. I am trying to hang in there but it does get discouraging. Even blogging can get discouraging. Good to know that others face the same challenges and see how they deal with it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

