Happy Pentecost Sunday! “Jesus Is Lord!”

holyspirit3

No one can say, “Jesus is Lord,” except by the Holy Spirit.
1 Corinthians 12:3B

“Jesus is Lord!” There, I said it. The Holy Spirit lives in me and that is the truth. I have no doubt at all. St. Paul tells me, Holy Scripture tells me and Jesus tells me.

“The Advocate, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything and remind you of all that I told you.”
John 14:26

So if the Holy Spirit lives in me, will teach me everything and remind me of all that Jesus has told us, why don’t I listen, learn and follow? It is probably because I am so into me, that sin of pride that robs me of the humility I desperately seek to reflect Jesus.

I am a much better writer than I am a conversationalist. When I write, I have time to pray and reflect, look up scripture, do research and think about what I am saying. I can reread what I write and make changes if I think what I am saying is not loving or how I think Jesus would communicate.

Now when I speak to others, my passion often takes over. I speak a hundred miles an hour, exaggerate, seek humor and say pretty much anything to get my point across. Holy Spirit, where are you? Honestly, I think the Holy Spirit continues to let me speak and then cleans up the mess I make. It’s probably the hard lesson I have to learn. Today at Mass and in a Holy Hour with Jesus, I became a little more aware that I have to slow down, listen, pray and speak if necessary with great love and com“passion”.

It’s a new day, a fresh start! In a Spirit of love and thanksgiving and bathing in the mercy of God I ask; Come Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful and enkindle in them the fire of your love. Send forth your Spirit, they shall be created and you shall renew the face of the earth…..and me! Amen.

Image from http://www.magnificat-ministry.net/prayer-treasury/holy-spirit-prayer/ on google.com images
Mike Burke; Sunday, May 15, 2016 Pentecost Sunday
Happy Pentecost Sunday! “Jesus Is Lord!”

3 thoughts on “Happy Pentecost Sunday! “Jesus Is Lord!”

  1. Hey Mike- I too am a better writer than conversationalist (extreme introvert here) and I usually say nothing. I think you said it all at the end: “I ask; Come Holy Spirit.” I have prayed before for words to say and he never disappoints. It is the praying to remember to pray that I must do. You too?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First of all Susan, you are a great writer! I tend to react quickly in which I too often forget to ask for Holy Spirit help. I think that’s why I think the Holy Spirit cleans up my feeble conversations. Anyway, I will keep trying to ask for help before I speak. Hope you have a great week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

