A Humbling And A Birthday Greeting

meg

I am finishing up my day at work as I write for tomorrow’s scripture reflection. It’s been about 12 hours here and I have had a difficult ending to my day. I told my boss that I wasted 3 hours of my day trying to fix something that was not broken, at least in the eyes of the experts. So be it. You do your best and by the grace of God I will come back tomorrow refreshed and ready to serve for another day.

So feeling a little sorry for myself, I read St. James in his Epistle 4:1-10 and he yells at me tonight! I know there is a reason and I just want to cling to Jesus to save me from St. James. Here is what he said to me tonight;

Where do the wars and where do the conflicts among you come from? Is it not from your passions that make war within your members? You covet but do not possess. You kill and envy but you cannot obtain; you fight and wage war. You do not possess because you do not ask. You ask but do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions. Adulterers! Do you not know that to be a lover of the world means enmity with God? Therefore, whoever wants to be a lover of the world makes himself an enemy of God.

I’ll stop there. He knows me very well, probably better than I know myself. How about a little mercy and compassion? Yes, I am an adulterer, an ashamed adulterer. My past before Christ is filled with all 7 of the deadly sins. I still fight them today but I am aware of the grace and help I am now given to battle. I do not love the world I tell you. I am in the world but not of the world. Yet, St. James knows I still have attachments that separate me from God.

Why would anyone love a sinner like me? Besides our loving Father, Jesus, Mother Mary, St. Joseph and all the glorious Saints and Angels of God, I know two special young women that love me, even the sinful dad I am and they are my daughters, a true gift from God.

My youngest daughter Megan celebrates a birthday today and I want to shout to the world how much I love her and thank God for the undeserved blessings she has brought to my life along with her husband Blayne and my grandson Gavin. Happy Birthday Sweetheart! I love you so much! I hope you enjoy the blessings of your special day!

Mike Burke; Tuesday, May 17, 2016
A Humbling And A Birthday Greeting

5 thoughts on “A Humbling And A Birthday Greeting

  1. You know…I struggle with some of the apostles, God forgive me. I was raised Presbyterian and, therefore, know all about guilt, remorse, and condemnation. I, too, have nitches for all of the deadly sins of which I am guilty. Add to that, Bipolar disorder, and you have a holy mess of shame and depression. I daresay it took Jesus decades to convince me that I am not worm shit. When He beckoned me and said, “You are Mine,” I decided the work of the apostles had been effective but was no longer warranted. Jesus loves me, this I know. And He doesn’t want me hating on someone He loves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes he does love you and he wants us to all love each other in the same way. Kitsy, I think we will all struggle in this but we just have to keep going.

      Like

Leave a Reply

