Faith Tested By Fire

fireIn today’s first reading from 1 Peter 1:3-9, I am again brought to the reality that I will have to suffer through my trials and daily challenges for the glory of God. St. Peter says that … you may have to suffer through various trials, so that the genuineness of your faith, more precious than gold that is perishable even though tested by fire, may prove to be for praise, glory, and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.”

It reminds me that I really do not know what I am praying for. I ask for increased faith and to glorify God in my life. I would probably not expect trials and suffering as answers to my prayers of faith and glory but more like a heap of pleasure for my desires to please the Lord. But I need only to look to the cross and the love given freely for me.

St. Peter also shares what this faith I seek is all about. He begins this passage … Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who in his great mercy gave us a new birth to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you who by the power of God are safeguarded through faith, to a salvation that is ready to be revealed in the final time.”

Heaven is worth all the suffering and trials. This past week I kind of lost sight of that and let the stress of life weigh me down. The final words of today’s passage really give me hope in Jesus, my Lord and Savior as St. Peter finishes … Although you have not seen him you love him; even though you do not see him now yet you believe in him, you rejoice with an indescribable and glorious joy, as you attain the goal of faith, the salvation of your souls.”

I hope everyone has a beautiful and blessed week ahead in the faith, hope, love, mercy and trust in Jesus. Amen.

Picture from google.com images
Mike Burke; Monday, May 23, 2016
Faith Tested By Fire

2 thoughts on “Faith Tested By Fire

  1. I hope and pray no more computer issues- It can be really hard at times… there is so much we rely on daily with technology. Sometimes it can seem like all of the work machines have it out for me. My coworkers have alluded as much too.
    A friend reminded me today, our weaknesses are God’s strengths. When we ask for things we get practice.
    God did not bring you this far to abandon you. Praying you have a blessed day/week.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am joyfully appreciating your comment! I left work early on Friday and arrived today to a new profile on my computer and empty of pretty much everything. Since I prayed about trust and patience, I guess I am given the opportunity to practice!

      It was great to read about your housemate. God is faithful!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

