“You Are Not Far From The Kingdom Of God”

HSMSWeb

A scribe in today’s Gospel from Mark 12:28-34, asks Jesus the question … “Which is the first of all the commandments?” Jesus would answer the scribe and listen to the scribe elaborate further on his answer. Jesus responded to the scribe saying … “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.” I would love to hear my Lord assure me as he did the scribe. So what was the answer of Jesus?

“The first is this: Hear, O Israel! The Lord our God is Lord alone! You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength. The second is this: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. There is no other commandment greater than these.”

How am I doing with this commandment? Love is a difficult decision. At times, I do very well and other times I am not sure. It is my hope to love by God’s standards and not by the standards of the world. But I realize that the world can sure be a challenge.

I found great encouragement in today’s first reading of St. Paul’s second letter to Timothy 2:8-15.

If we have died with him we shall also live with him; if we persevere we shall also reign with him. But if we deny him he will deny us. If we are unfaithful he remains faithful, for he cannot deny himself.

I took great comfort in God remaining faithful even when I am unfaithful. I believe that we all are unfaithful to God in some or many ways. We can get so caught up in the world and what it is trying to sell us and we forget about love of God and love of neighbor. With such a faithful God, let us never deny him. And of course with the help of his grace, maybe we are all not that far from the Kingdom of God.

Image from google.com images
Mike Burke; Thursday, June 2, 2016
“You Are Not Far From The Kingdom Of God”

7 thoughts on ““You Are Not Far From The Kingdom Of God”

  1. ” I took great comfort in God remaining faithful even when I am unfaithful.”

    Yesterday, I was grossly unfaithful. In fact, I, the big preacher of the second commandment, was seething, radiating, vibrating with hate. One of my loved ones is in an abusive relationship; it is not a romantic relationship but it is a close relationship, none the less. The abusive person has so many emotional hooks in my loved one that my loved one does not feel she can break free. I have been wanting to do severe bodily harm to this abusive person. Repeatedly, I have had to give it over to Jesus. I’m numb with emotional exhaustion and I am begging His forgiveness… He, the faithful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hang in there Kitsy. He is faithful and even though your feelings were screaming, you managed through emotional exhaustion. I see Jesus on the cross with that emotional exhaustion. May God bless you and give you the grace to move forward.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My loved one and the abuser are “time blocked” to have a discussion today. My prayer has been that Jesus be in the room, refereeing the discussion, and giving my loved one strength to defend herself. Thanks be to God.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loving others as we love ourselves sounds easy, but it is often challenging. Yes, it would be wonderful to hear from Jesus’ lips that we are not far from the Kingdom of God! Sometimes all I seem to hear is my spiritual GPS saying, “Recalculating…recalculating…!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

