Sound Advice – Is The Time Here?

Immaculate-Heart-of-Mary

I just finished praying for Muhammad Ali who I heard passed away. I like sports, never liked boxing but Ali captivated the world in so many ways. Like me, he was not always humble, made mistakes and ignited many fuses. He is a child of God. May he rest in peace.

Today’s first reading from 2 Timothy 4:1-8 has some advice for me and all of us in this world. In some of the areas, I am strong and some I am weak. I think it is what life is about as I seek to follow Jesus. But I do believe that our world has become very twisted. Good is often considered evil and evil is often considered good by the standards of the world. Even I get caught up in many things I am ashamed of and in need of God’s constant mercy. So here is what St. Paul says … Beloved: I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who will judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingly power: proclaim the word; be persistent whether it is convenient or inconvenient; convince, reprimand, encourage through all patience and teaching. For the time will come when people will not tolerate sound doctrine but, following their own desires and insatiable curiosity, will accumulate teachers and will stop listening to the truth and will be diverted to myths. But you, be self-possessed in all circumstances; put up with hardship; perform the work of an evangelist; fulfill your ministry.

Today is also the “Memorial of the Immaculate Heart of the Blessed Virgin Mary.” I consecrate my life to Jesus each morning through the loving Immaculate Heart of Mary. As a “mama’s boy”, I trust that she will show me, a most sinful man, the way to her son Jesus through her own love and mercy. I love you Mother! I love you Jesus! Amen.

Image from google.com images

Mike Burke; Saturday, June 4, 2016
Sound Advice – Is The Time Here?

One thought on “Sound Advice – Is The Time Here?

  1. Yes, may Ali rest in peace. I heard that for all his bluster and bragging, he was a very generous person. I also admire his courage in battling that horrible Parkinson’s Disease for so many years. He had since the age of 42. So sad!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

