Set Apart From My Mother’s Womb

35750583076f01a11d2568f1b68be550

What is the purpose of my life here on earth? The church teaches me that (1) I am to love and serve God and (2) I am to love and serve others. This, in reflection can be very deep. St. Paul in his letter to the Galatians 1:11-19, tells us that he believed in Judaism and tried to destroy those who believed in Jesus. Then St. Paul said something that I have been pondering … But when God, who from my mother’s womb had set me apart was pleased to reveal his Son to me, so that I might proclaim him to the Gentiles, I went into Arabia and then returned to Damascus.”

So I ask myself the question again in a little different way; from my mother’s womb, what has God set me apart to do? I was raised in a home with no religion. I am pretty sure that my mom and dad both believed in Jesus but we never really spoke about it. My parents took the viewpoint that I could make my own decision about religion when I was older. I did have a St. Paul moment at a marriage retreat that opened my eyes to God and I have been seeking to follow him for the last 32 years.

In pondering my existence, I wonder if I am just coming to a maturity level to start asking my Lord the tougher and more pertinent questions pertaining to my existence. Jesus revealed to St. Paul that he was to reveal Jesus to the Gentiles. Thanks be to God he did because 2000 plus years later, me, a Gentile am able to know Jesus and follow him. St. Paul ran the good race and because he did, I have the opportunity to know God.

Is there someone who is depending on me? Do I listen and cooperate with God’s Grace poured out for me? I know it is not too late for me, or any of us. If it depended on us, it may be too late but fortunately, all things are possible with God. The first reading and the Gospel reflect God’s pity as sons of widows are raised from the dead. The Responsorial Psalm 30 says “I will praise you Lord, for you have rescued me.” After coming from the Sacrament of Reconciliation, I can relate to this verse of the Psalm … “Hear, O LORD, and have pity on me; O LORD, be my helper. You changed my mourning into dancing; O LORD, my God, forever will I give you thanks.”

Like the widow’s sons, I have been raised from the dead, that is, the deadliness of my sinfulness. Lord, help me to be more honest with you and to not fear asking the questions that will reveal to me your purpose for my existence. I will praise you Lord, for you have rescued me. Amen.

Image from google.com images
Mike Burke; Sunday, June 5, 2016
Set Apart From My Mother’s Womb

Leave a Reply

