We Are The Light Of The World

light-of-the-world

I love my Lord and Savior. I have a very personal relationship with Jesus. He knows me better than I know myself and I think I grow each day to love him more and more. One thing I have learned is that even though my relationship with Jesus is very personal, it cannot be private. I have a great responsibility to be his light to the world and all of us have a responsibility as a community of believers to gather together to worship and adore our Lord as his light.

Today’s Gospel from Matthew 5:13-16 tells us … You are the light of the world. A city set on a mountain cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and then put it under a bushel basket; it is set on a lampstand, where it gives light to all in the house. Just so, your light must shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your heavenly Father.”

To be in communion with our heavenly Father, we must be in communion with Jesus. By the power of the Holy Spirit, we must be in communion with each other. We cannot hide but must gather as brothers and sisters to be light to the world. Sometimes I come to worship with a flickering lamp but you are there to give me strength to burn brightly for the glory of God. I need you, you need me, we need each other. As one body in Christ, we will be a great light of glory to God.

Image from google.com images
Mike Burke; Tuesday, June 7, 2016
We Are The Light Of The World

3 thoughts on “We Are The Light Of The World

  1. Oh, how we need each other. Many churches have cut back services, or gone to house groups and not corporate worship. I love corporate worship. It lifts the spirit farther than solos worship anytime. We need to share our light with others. Good word!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

