Anyone For A Game Of Baal? Let’s Fire Up The Altar!

elijah-mount-carmel-600

Oh my God! I am laughing out loud reading 1 Kings 18:20-39. This is truly one of my favorite stories of faith. It has some playful taunting that reminds me of my days with the boys and having a great time growing up. The summary of the story goes like this.

All the prophets were to gather on Mt. Carmel. Elijah says … “I am the only surviving prophet of the LORD, and there are four hundred and fifty prophets of Baal.” Well, he is a little outnumbered! Elijah gives them a challenge. He says to bring two bulls, cut them into pieces and place them on an altar of wood but do not start a fire. He said … “You shall call on your gods, and I will call on the LORD. The God who answers with fire is God.” All the people answered, “Agreed!”

Alright, the game is on. So Baal gets the call first. From morning until noon they are hopping around saying … “Answer us, Baal!” No answer. This reminds me too much of myself as Elijah tells them … “Call louder, for he is a god and may be meditating, or may have retired, or may be on a journey. Perhaps he is asleep and must be awakened.” They called out louder and start slashing themselves with swords and spears gushing blood upon themselves as was their custom. Still, no answer.

Then Elijah built an altar. Poured four jars of water over the wood and offering 3 times so that water was entrenched around the altar. Elijah prayed … “LORD, God of Abraham, Isaac, and Israel, let it be known this day that you are God in Israel and that I am your servant and have done all these things by your command. Answer me, LORD! Answer me, that this people may know that you, LORD, are God and that you have brought them back to their senses.”

And what happened??? The LORD’s fire came down and consumed the burnt offering, wood, stones, and dust, and it lapped up the water in the trench. Seeing this, all the people fell prostrate and said, “The LORD is God! The LORD is God!”

Wouldn’t it be awesome to have the faith of Elijah and to evangelize for God’s Glory in such an awesome way? I know I lack faith and my pride would probably be shining and seeking my own glory for such an convincing victory. You are so awesome Lord! The LORD is God! Glory be to the Father, Son and Holy Spirit! Amen.

Image from google.com images
Mike Burke; Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Anyone For A Game Of Baal? Let’s Fire Up The Altar!

Leave a Reply

