Wandering Eyes

bigstock-Man-eyes-looking-through-hole-41999920-300x200

I am not going to take today what Jesus says literally but his point is clear. I do not like to hear this from Jesus. It is hard for me, it is difficult and I have failed too often. Here is some what he says in Matthew 5:27- 32 … “You have heard that it was said, You shall not commit adultery. But I say to you, everyone who looks at a woman with lust has already committed adultery with her in his heart.”

Thirty plus years ago, I committed the actual sin of adultery. I am ashamed. Approximately five or so years ago, it became known through a marriage retreat. My marriage of almost 43 years is now hanging by a thread. So when I read this, that memory is renewed and though God has forgiven me, I am reminded of the pain I have caused the person I love the most. Even to this day, as ashamed as I am, my eyes still wander. Jesus is telling me today that I am playing with fire with my wandering eyes. He tells me … “If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one of your members than to have your whole body thrown into Gehenna.”

It is a pretty serious message. I have talked to many men and frankly, most if not all have an eye problem. How far do we go with those eyes? We are going to look but what are we going to think? What are we going to do? Lust is the key word. Holiness and purity are graces that I desperately seek. God’s grace is sufficient for me so when I struggle, I can only come to the conclusion that I do not want to cooperate with his grace and choose my own self-gratification over his will.

Lord, I do not like this message from you because I am weak and unfaithful to you. You are faithful and you are merciful. Please help me and all who struggle with this passage today. You have much more to say Lord Jesus but please poor out your grace to dissect your message with greater hope and faith. Please save us from the fires of Hell. Amen.

Image from google.com images
Mike Burke; Friday, June 10, 2016
Wandering Eyes

3 thoughts on “Wandering Eyes

  1. Dearest, cutting to the chase…I am an adulteress. I have had intimate relationships since my divorce. By Biblical definition, that is adultery. Adultery, and lusting after women in your heart, is a forgivable sin. If you don’t believe me, ask Jimmy Carter. You are forgiven.

    Now, move on and do good.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Kitsy. I do believe I am forgiven and do move on but I will always remember my offense against God, my need for his constant mercy and the pain I have caused others. Remembering has definitely helped me to grow in my life so that I can do good.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

