Yes And No

yes-no-cube

How many of us have wavered with our answers to questions? I have said yes and changed my mind. I have said no and changed my mind. I have answered without thinking and I have answered after a lot of thought. At times I have left a question unanswered. Today’s words of Jesus from Matthew 5:37 remind me that I should discern in the Holy Spirit so I will choose God’s will and not my will when I answer.

That is so easy for me to put down in writing but so hard for me to actually do. What did Jesus say? … Let your ‘Yes’ mean ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No’ mean ‘No.’ Anything more is from the Evil One.” Even tonight I received a text from my daughter asking me to pick up my grandkids on Monday. I started with no because I planned to take the day off. I then said yes because she needed my help and it would be fun for me to spend time with my grandkids. I added, I can bring them home whenever you want, whatever is easiest for you. Then I remembered I had a rehearsal and had to give her a specific time.

My point is that I never even consulted or thought about the Holy Spirit. If at the beginning of her text I would have paused, taken a deep breath and simply asked “Come Holy Spirit”, I believe I could have saved myself many yesses and no’s before coming to the right conclusion. Hopefully a lesson learned!

Image from google.com images
Mike Burke; Saturday, June 11, 2016
Yes And No

2 thoughts on “Yes And No

Leave a Reply

