A Message Of Love & Forgiveness

luke-7

A request that I have asked of the Holy Spirit is to see myself as God sees me. What I believe has happened by this prayer is that I am more aware of my sins and what is not so pleasing to God. I have also become aware that God is so merciful and I have to depend on his mercy and grace for most is impossible for me but not for God. I have also noticed that I have become much more merciful myself toward others as the plank in my eye is so large compared to the splinter in yours.

So in today’s Gospel from Luke 7:36 – 8:3, a Pharisee invites Jesus to dine with him. In short, a very sinful woman anoints the feet of Jesus with a flask of alabaster ointment, bathes them in her tears, kisses them and wipes them with her hair. The Pharisee did not like it because of the type of woman she was so Jesus points out to him how she has loved greatly in doing what she did and he has loved little by not even offering him water for his feet when he entered the home.

The message from Jesus that really sticks out for me is … But the one to whom little is forgiven, loves little.” If one is not aware of their sins, the thought might be that there is little to be forgiven. The pride of thinking one is better than another would put a barrier up to love one another as Jesus calls us to do. I have read often and even heard people say to me, I am a good person and I do not need this or that usually referring to God or the church. I do not have the ability to know the heart of my brothers and sisters but the question that needs to be asked is by whose standards to you judge yourself a good person? Is it the world’s or God’s standards?

I think that is always a good question for me to reflect on because I sometimes like to use the world to justify my sins against God. In my opinion, I sometimes match up pretty good to some of my family, friends and acquaintances! I think Jesus expects much more from me to not compare myself to others, but to love and have mercy as he loves and has mercy on me.

Image from google.com images
Mike Burke; Sunday, June 12, 2016
A Message Of Love & Forgiveness

One thought on “A Message Of Love & Forgiveness

Leave a Reply

