Faith & Trust In God

541468d76650b14c9a86c8a87deea096

The first reading from 2 Chronicles 24:17-25 talks about worshiping idols. I would like to think that I do not worship idols but I have many “things” that I can go to in substitution of God. These things I know only bring an instant of fulfillment where God is everlasting. It amazes me that I can keep going back to “things” and away from what gives me a peace and joy the brightens the world around me.

The Gospel of Matthew 6:24-34 enlightens me to understand that my faith journey is just that, a journey and I read this … So do not worry and say, ‘What are we to eat?’ or ‘What are we to drink?’ or ‘What are we to wear?’ All these things the pagans seek. Your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the Kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given you besides. Do not worry about tomorrow; tomorrow will take care of itself. Sufficient for a day is its own evil.”

There was a time I felt very desperate as to how I could possibly keep up with my bills. Even though I have considered myself a prayerful man, sometimes my prayers can be just words to say with no real relationship and surrender to God. Desperation was a really good gift for me as I had to go to God and basically say “I can’t do it.” Long story short, ideas came, companies stepped up to help and this area has been manageable for a long time….until today???

On my drive to work I began contemplating some unexpected expenses and just the cost of my daily living. It appears in my mind that in time, I am going to “run out” living the way I do. Going back to the Gospel today, Jesus, right before the passage I shared says … “O you of little faith?” Was he talking to me? You can bet my bottom dollar he was. We give a lot of advice to each other on our blogs which I am thankful for because our Lord speaks to us through each other. If I can sum up all of the advice I have received from you, it would be “Trust in the Lord.” I am sure that is what he is telling me today.

Have a blessed weekend!

Image from google.com images
Mike Burke; Saturday, June 18, 2016
Faith & Trust In God

2 thoughts on “Faith & Trust In God

  1. Mike, I can really relate to this. Looking back over my personal journals, I can see how I panicked every time my business got slow or unexpected expenses cropped up. I would fret and worry and beg God for help. He always came through for me. I have more or less learned that when one has a business, it ebbs and flows like everything else in life. I have always come out of the slow periods and found myself busy again, sometimes with more clients than I could handle.

    So now I do not get quite so frantic (in fact, I’m in a very slow period right now again), but other worries do torment me from time to time. I find I need to face each one down and give it over to God. No matter how many times He bails us out, why is that the next time we are filled with doubt and fear all over again? Oh, that fragile, flawed human nature of ours! :-/ However, being conscious of this tendency is a big step towards perfecting our trust in God. It is only when we are “unconscious” of our habitual, destructive thought patterns that they can overcome us instead of the other way around.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

