“You Have Given Us Stupefying Wine”

hqdefault

My Father’s Day was a little different this year. I was invited to a get together with family but was unable to go, as I was feeling sick, resting mostly in bed and without much energy. I cannot even remember the last time I was actually sick. It has been awhile. So I open my writing with a prayer of Thanksgiving to God the Father, thanking him for the opportunity to unite my suffering, in such a small way to the cross of his Son Jesus, who glorified the Father in giving his suffering and life for me. Amen.

I have been thinking much about life, trying to be good and doing the best I can. I think way too often about the world and the direction our society is heading. We seem to be so far from following the commandment to love one another. We are divided in many ways and have fallen short of communicating our differences in a civil and loving manner.

The Responsorial Psalm today is a great prayer for me, us and our country …

Responsorial Psalm PS 60:3, 4-5, 12-13

  1. (7b)Help us with your right hand, O Lord, and answer us.
    O God, you have rejected us and broken our defenses;
    you have been angry; rally us!
    R.Help us with your right hand, O Lord, and answer us.
    You have rocked the country and split it open;
    repair the cracks in it, for it is tottering.
    You have made your people feel hardships;
    you have given us stupefying wine.
    R. Help us with your right hand, O Lord, and answer us.
    Have not you, O God, rejected us,
    so that you go not forth, O God, with our armies?
    Give us aid against the foe,
    for worthless is the help of men.
    R. Help us with your right hand, O Lord, and answer us.

For the Psalmist to say, “you have given us stupefying wine,” it jumped out at me. Sometimes when I hear or read what some say and believe that goes against the Word of God, it leaves me shaking my head. This quote will remind me again of the need for the power of the Holy Spirit in our lives to guide us with proper sober discernment. Come Holy Spirit, we need you now! Amen.

Image from google.com images
Mike Burke; Monday, June 20, 2016
“You Have Given Us Stupefying Wine”

2 thoughts on ““You Have Given Us Stupefying Wine”

Leave a Reply

