“Lord! Lord!”

saddest-words

Jesus was very specific today when he says … “Everyone who listens to these words of mine and acts on them will be like a wise man who built his house on rock.” I read the word of God daily but do I listen and act on them? He also says … “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the Kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father in heaven.”

The Gospel today from Matthew 7:21-29 reminds me of a trap. I want to do good works to please God and help others. That in itself is good but can lead to a terrible thought and act of thinking I can earn my way to heaven, which is impossible to do. Jesus tells his disciples … Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name? Did we not drive out demons in your name? Did we not do mighty deeds in your name?’ Then I will declare to them solemnly, ‘I never knew you. Depart from me, you evildoers.’

Jesus calls people who do good in his name evildoers! So what is the will of our Father in heaven? I think it is to love the Lord with all your heart, soul, mind and strength as well as to love one another. None of us want to hear the words “I never knew you.” How do we get to know one another? Mostly by spending time with each other. I think it is the same for God. We must spend time with him, listening, sharing and being close with our creator and we do that in prayer. Even though he knows everything about us, we need to share our lives with him for our sake and let his Spirit guide us so that we can come to a better knowledge of our God and ourselves.

Image from google.comP
Mike Burke; Thursday, June 23, 2016
“Lord! Lord!”

Leave a Reply

