Sent To Proclaim The Kingdom Of God

130sermon2

Jesus, in the Gospel of Luke 10:1-20, sends out 72 disciples in pairs with specific orders to proclaim that the Kingdom of God is here. He tells them He is sending them “like lambs among wolves.” Here are some of his specific instructions.

  1. Carry no money bag, no sack, no sandals
  2. Greet no one along the way
  3. Into whatever house you enter, first say, ‘Peace to this household.’ If a peaceful person lives there, your peace will rest on him; but if not, it will return to you.
  4. Stay in the same house and eat and drink what is offered to you, for the laborer deserves his payment.
  5. Cure the sick in it and say to them, ‘The kingdom of God is at hand for you.’

If they were accepted, they were to stay and if not, to shake the dust from their feet and move on. I find it very hard to move on from people and situations in my life. Many must have prayed for me when I was lost and did not know or care about the Lord. I guess I keep passively thinking that if I continue to strive to be Christ-like that some will notice and want to know why I am the way I am. Unfortunately, my way is surely not one of Jesus’ instructions to win people for the Kingdom of God. But who knows, maybe writing a daily blog and sharing my love, praise, glory and adoration for the Lord may be a modern way of this age to proclaim the Kingdom of God is at hand.

Doesn’t it feel great and exciting when you are speaking with someone who really gets what you are saying and wants to share experiences of Christ with you? It does for me and I am sure it did for the 72 disciples when they returned to Jesus with their excitement about casting out demons and their other powerful accomplishments done in the full power of the Holy Spirit. I can only hope that these words of Jesus are meant for me also as he tells his disciples … do not rejoice because the spirits are subject to you, but rejoice because your names are written in heaven.”

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Sunday, July 3, 2016
Sent To Proclaim The Kingdom Of God

Leave a Reply

