Have Pity On Us Lord Jesus

sheep-following-the-shepherd

After a holiday of celebration for the independence of the United States of America, I thank God again for the freedom this country has been given. As I read today’s Gospel from Matthew 9:32-38, I think these words about Jesus fit us and our great nation …

“At the sight of the crowds, his heart was moved with pity for them
because they were troubled and abandoned,
like sheep without a shepherd.”

We are a very troubled people like sheep without a shepherd. As Christians, we know that the way, the truth and the life is Jesus, yet even we seem troubled and abandoned as sheep wandering off away from the flock. We still seek truth as to how to love our Lord with all our hearts, souls, minds and strength as well as loving our neighbors as ourselves but we often fail due to sin and worldly desires.

I think that a non-believer, looking into Christianity from the outside might not see the attraction of living a life in Christ by the examples we often exhibit in our lives as Christians. I know I may be a little hard in what I am saying because I use myself as a sinful example and how at times I choose me over you and me over Jesus. My hope is that Jesus is always moved with pity for people like me, his wandering sheep and all who at times can find themselves lost in the world.

How truly blessed we are to have a merciful Shepherd that continues to search for the lost, especially the divided and lost souls here in the great USA. We have a lot of work to do as children of God. Lord have mercy on us.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Have Pity On Us Lord Jesus

One thought on “Have Pity On Us Lord Jesus

Leave a Reply

