Sometimes It Is Better For Me To Shut Up

b39fcee8-a6b8-4449-a687-567a17cb7dba

I have learned many lessons in my life the hard way. One big lesson I am learning and by the grace of God, am doing better at is to listen intently and to keep my mouth shut. I have had a tendency to want to defend my position at the inkling of a disagreement without fully understanding what the other person is saying. I have found that the topics of religion and politics seem to bring out the worst in regards to listening and shutting up.

Jesus, in the Gospel from Matthew 10:16-23, tells His Apostles and us who believe in Him that … Behold, I am sending you like sheep in the midst of wolves; so be shrewd as serpents and simple as doves.” I decided to lookup the definition of shrewd and found this … having or showing sharp powers of judgment; astute. “she was shrewd enough to guess the motive behind his gesture”

What I have found is that shrewd for me includes keeping my mouth shut and listening before speaking. Jesus said this today and I really believe it applies to me as I have noticed a positive change in me when I speak and share my faith or on any topic … do not worry about how you are to speak or what you are to say. You will be given at that moment what you are to say. For it will not be you who speak but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.”

Yes, the power of the Holy Spirit living in me has guided me well. I used to say some of the craziest things and unfortunately still do on occasions. Now though, I am aware that often the shrewdness of the Holy Spirit in me reminds me to shut up and listen especially when I have no idea what I am talking about. That would definitely be politics and probably, if you ask those who know me, many more topics!

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Friday, July 8, 2016
Sometimes It Is Better For Me To Shut Up

3 thoughts on “Sometimes It Is Better For Me To Shut Up

  1. I hear you, Mike, but sometimes it is so hard to keep your mouth shut and not jump in to defend your position–before the other person has even finished talking. Uh, yes. That would be one of my worst habits. I have read your post several times and hope to let it sink in. And help me to stop and listen. Thanks for this. Have a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good point, Mike. I find it difficult controlling the urge to react and defend myself when someone says something critical or hurtful to me, or when people say things that are just ignorant or sound ridiculous to me. It’s something I constantly try to work on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

