Peace Or Sword?

peace_sword-1

Here are three points that spoke to me from today’s scripture readings.

  1. When I come before the Lord in prayer, the intentions of my heart should be pure and clean. If not, God says in Isaiah 1:10-17, that when I come to Him in prayer I will not listen. Your hands are full of blood! Wash yourselves clean! Put away your misdeeds from before my eyes; cease doing evil; learn to do good. Make justice your aim: redress the wronged, hear the orphan’s plea, defend the widow.”
  2. That praise is the sacrifice that glorifies God and that God’s salvation will be shown to me if I go the right way as said in Psalm 50.
  3. And the Gospel of Matthew 10:34 – 11:1 tells me that I can love no one more than the Lord whether it be my father, mother, sister, brother, wife or friend. Jesus says He did not come to bring peace upon the earth but to bring the sword along with setting a man against his father and a daughter against her mother. I think in my relationship with Jesus, I believe He is a God of MERCY. He is telling me that His will is the path for me to heaven and joy in my present life. God has told me to honor my mother and father, love my wife as Christ loved the church and lay down my life for a friend or even an enemy. I think if it comes to anyone close to me that would try to lure me away from doing what is God’s will for me, the sword will come into effect.

I have said this many times, and believe it to be true in my life, that being a Christian is very difficult. The temptations of the world are always before me and many times when I think, by the grace of God, I have conquered a sin, the Liar continues to seek to draw me back. Jesus tells His disciples the following and the reason I think being a Christian is a great challenge for me … whoever does not take up his cross and follow after me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” I have to be willing to give up my life and surrender it to Jesus so that I may find the life that God wills for me.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Monday, July 11, 2016
Peace Or Sword?

Leave a Reply

