DIVISION

e6fb02fe0c08cd51c505316c3792f9fe

Here is today’s short Gospel reading … Jesus said: “Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

This world is a freakin’ mess. I had a conversation at lunch today about black lives matters, police shootings, terrorist attacks and seemingly everything going wrong in the world. What the heck is wrong with us? Everyone has their opinions of what needs to be done. In social media, it takes but a minute of reading comments to a controversial subject to experience the attitude of hate in our disagreements. We cannot even discuss differences civilly.

What is Jesus talking about? I do not see any rest ahead or the lightening of the burdens of this screwed up world. Who is going to unjustly die tomorrow? Who is going to be unjustly arrested? Lord, come on, this is crazy. As Christians, we say we love you and we love our neighbors. What a bunch of liars we are when we spew out our hate in the form of opinions that are so far from the Gospel yet we call ourselves Christians.

You Lord are the answer. It is the ways of the world versus you and your Holy Will. As Christians we say we want to follow you. You say your yoke is easy and your burden light. Yet, we are a troubled people, a troubled nation, a troubled world. Unfortunately, I can understand why people do not believe in you. Many do not know you. Many want you to fix everything and when you do not, it’s your fault. Many will never look into their hearts to find you there. Lord, what do we need to do??? … “Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”

The answer is Jesus. Until we are willing to truly seek truth, we will stand divided and suffer the heavy load of life. Lord, please show us the way. Amen.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Thursday, July 14, 2016
DIVISION

7 thoughts on “DIVISION

  1. Mike, you’re so right about all the hostility out there. I just “liked” someone’s blog and said, “I could not agree more,” and the author gave me a snotty reply as to how can I “like” her post and then say “I could not agree” with her viewpoint! I was flabbergasted. Perhaps English is not her first language, but I explained that “Could not agree more” means someone shares your viewpoint! She also gave some snooty replies to a couple of other favorable comments people made. What is wrong with people???? I agree the world is in quite a mess. It seems that every week now there is a new terrorist attack. I don’t know where it will all end, as people do not seem to be taking the hint and drawing closer to God or nicer to each other!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

