Evil & The Wicked Man

original_1358685696

Sometimes when I read my daily scripture and it seems to point to the direction of my day, it can be welcomed or unwelcomed. Today was a bummer for me. The first reading from Micah 2:1-5 talks about those sitting on their couches planning to do evil. The Responsorial Psalm 10 talks about the wicked man and the evil things he does. Finally, the Gospel from Matthew 12:14-21 talks about the Pharisees seeking to put Jesus to death.

I have awesome college students that I work with. I cannot tell you enough about the blessings that they bring me. They are like my children and I want to protect them, at least while they are in my presence on the campus. Today, right in front of our office, one of our students had his bicycle stolen. I know, it’s just a bike and happens unfortunately too often every day. But just to see the disappointment on my student’s face when he found out was not a good moment for me. And on top of that, today’s readings have me shaking my head.

Psalm 10 says … For the wicked man glories in his greed, and the covetous blasphemes, sets the LORD at nought. The wicked man boasts, “He will not avenge it”; “There is no God,” sums up his thoughts. Exactly! We tend to do stupid things as if there is no God who cares about us doing the right things. It is no big deal. No one will see if I do it. I can get away with it and no one will know.

So instead of pointing the finger, I realize that I have been that wicked man and it has taken God’s grace to help me to see my wickedness. It is a journey and I must be patient with God, others and myself. The evil of sin will get us all at some time whether we are committing it or it is committed against us. Our only real hope is the Lord. May our loving and merciful God bless my student with His love and mercy. Amen.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Saturday, July 16, 2016
Evil & The Wicked Man

2 thoughts on “Evil & The Wicked Man

Leave a Reply

