SIGNS: 3 Days and 3 Nights

images

It is Sunday evening as I write my reflection for tomorrow. I am sitting in my room; it is peaceful and quiet with a beautiful breeze blowing. It is a perfect setting to contemplate God’s Word. I was blessed today to be asked to fill in musically as a replacement at the 1pm Mass. Though I have a great choir of men that I direct, God has blessed me with the ability to play and sing on my own if the need arises. With that blessing, receiving the Eucharist and spending almost a couple of hours in prayer before the Blessed Sacrament, I am very peaceful in the love of Christ.

My neighbor from across the street, yes my neighbor who I am called to love, just arrived home with his speakers blaring punk rock. The screaming, the screaming, the screaming of words I cannot understand but sound like a demon trying to run me out of the neighborhood. Ahh… he turned off his vehicle. Peace again.

Matthew 12:38-42 is the Gospel reading today. Jesus says … “An evil and unfaithful generation seeks a sign, but no sign will be given it except the sign of Jonah the prophet.”  I am not one who asks God for a sign. But I do think I am given them often. Today while driving home, I saw three beautiful white birds following a dark black bird. I thought of Jesus telling me, “You came to me with your sins today. The Father, I and the Holy Spirit have driven the darkness out of your life. Be at peace.”

And what about Jonah the prophet? I think of St. Augustine saying that the New Testament is concealed in the Old and the Old Testament is revealed in the New. Jesus tells the sign-seeking Pharisees that Jonah was in the belly of a whale for 3 days and 3 nights and that so will the Son of Man be in the heart of the earth for 3 days and 3 nights which we now know to be true. Jesus tells them that “there is something greater than Jonah here.” I believe fully in the greatness of Jesus. He continues to love me, an unfaithful sinner, so I pray for the grace to love my Lord, love my neighbor, repent, go and sin no more. Thank you Lord. Amen.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Monday, July 18, 2016
SIGNS: 3 Days and 3 Nights

2 thoughts on “SIGNS: 3 Days and 3 Nights

Leave a Reply

