And Who Is Your Family?

october_godswill-300x225

How important is family? I think the family is of great importance. As mothers and fathers, we have a great responsibility in raising a family. It is the structure that God has set up to help children grow up healthy, safely and to learn responsibility. We provide, we teach, we discipline and we love our children so that they will have the best opportunity to make a positive mark in the world.

Today’s Gospel passage is one that has caused controversy in trying to understand what Jesus is actually saying. Many think that Jesus had brothers and sisters because of this passage and there are some, who say that he disrespected His mother. Here is part of Matthew 12:46-50Someone told him, “Your mother and your brothers are standing outside, asking to speak with you.” But he said in reply to the one who told him, “Who is my mother? Who are my brothers?” And stretching out his hand toward his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers. For whoever does the will of my heavenly Father is my brother, and sister, and mother.”

God gave us the Commandments. Jesus is God and He did not sin so we can put to rest any disrespect of His mother, as He would always honor His mother and father. I know through my faith in Sacred Tradition that Jesus had no brothers and sisters as Mary, His mother, was a virgin. To argue about these things misses the point I think Jesus is making. To be His brother, sister or mother is to be in the family of Jesus. He was stretching out His hand towards the disciples, His brothers. We as Christians are brothers and sisters in Christ. Jesus tells us that whoever does the will of His Father is part of His family.

I love my family and I will do everything possible, by the grace of God, to love them and show them, as best as I can the example of doing the will of God. But I also know that there is something greater here than my family and that would be my brother, Jesus. The irony is that if we do the will of God, we will be the best possible family we were created to be. One that glorifies God.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Tuesday, July 19, 2016
And Who Is Your Family?

Leave a Reply

