From Penthouse To Basement

4477239

I am reminded today how easy it is to seek God, find God and lose God within moments. Maybe it is just me, and not something that others experience, but I often am a little like St. Peter from today’s Gospel reading from Matthew 16:13-23. Jesus asks His disciples what the lowdown is about Him. What are people saying? They tell Him but then Jesus asks what they think. St. Peter (Simon at the time) gets it right when he answers that Jesus is the Christ, the son of the living God. Jesus tells him that was revealed to him from His Heavenly Father. Jesus then names Simon, “Peter”, and blesses him with the grace of leadership and authority.

Jesus begins to reveal to His disciples about His suffering and crucifixion that is to come. The powerful Peter pulls Jesus aside and rebukes Him by telling our Lord that God forbid, this is not going to happen. Wow, from the penthouse to the basement. Jesus tells Peter … “Get behind me, Satan! You are an obstacle to me. You are thinking not as God does, but as human beings do.”

That’s me! I can be so in tune with my Lord, loving Him, loving everyone, praising God and thanking God for every breath and gift I am given. Then temptations of all kind come and I want things my way, just like Peter. Thinking like God and not as human beings do will be a daily challenge for me. When I win the battle by cooperating with the grace of God, I am at great peace. Today, I would rather not talk about my way. It doesn’t work.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Thursday, August 4, 2016
From Penthouse To Basement

2 thoughts on “From Penthouse To Basement

  1. The True Light! says:

    We all fight this “demon” to some degree every day. Some days are better, some are not. As long as we walk in the Light, we have continual forgiveness through the blood of Christ (1 John 1:7). Just remember, if you get knocked down 7 times, get up 8!

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

