The World or My Cross?

globebiblecross“What profit would there be for one to gain the whole world and forfeit your life?” Matthew 16:26

I am told that living in the world is good and being of the world is not. Our Lord has given us this beautiful world and every provision for our benefit. Yet, when I replace worldly things for Godly things, I sin.

Am I willing to pick up my cross and follow Jesus? My Spirit is usually willing but my flesh, my desires and my sins can lead me into being of the world. The world can be so enjoyable that the enjoyment becomes more important than the cross of loving God and neighbor above me. I have gotten caught up in living the worldly “good life” but in the same Gospel today, Jesus says … For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.”

If I believe in heaven and eternal life, which I do, these passages make it clear to me to keep striving to love God, His will and my neighbor above all things of the world. I usually sound hard on myself when I write because I am vividly aware of my past sins that God, in His mercy, has forgiven me. But, remembering those worldly times are great reminders to choose more wisely.

A good example I can share is on my long, late night, drive home, I have a bad habit of pulling off the freeway for a large amount of fast food. I do this more often than I want to admit. The temptation is great, the food is great but I know the way I feel when I get home and try to sleep and how I feel when I wake up in the morning. It is not good and I think to myself, why do I do this over and over again?

Last night as I was deciding which fast food joint would get my business, I was prompted to deny myself the food and offer that sacrifice for a friend who is in pain and a friend of hers that just passed away last weekend. The peace I received of offering a prayer of love and sacrifice for others was a great blessing. In this case, the Spirit wins and the flesh loses. Praise God.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Friday, August 5, 2016
The World or My Cross?

12 thoughts on “The World or My Cross?

    1. Your comment makes me look back at what I shared and it was an awesome sacrifice but unfortunately, I have gone the other route for my own enjoyment rather than sacrifice. I am sure I will be inspired and enlightened again. Thanks for all of your wonderful comments and taking the time to catch up with me. It is a wonderful blessing coming home from a very long and tiring day. God bless you Gloria!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As far as the selfish tendencies, welcome to the club. I guess it’s part of being human. God bless you, too. Gotta get back to my own blog — I’ve gotten sort of slack as the summer progresses, so much going on!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Bless you, dearest. Yes, I am checking in on you. Good choice, btw.

    Life is quieter but not any easier off-the-grid. I am looking forward to spending some quiet time with The Great Physician tonight as I have been to the hospital twice in the past week and my doctor has cancelled my appointment; we don’t get along.

    My 63-year-old, handicapped sister is being divorced (unwillingly) and will be moving here (from Alaska) so I can take care of her. Pray for me; she will be cranky at best.

    I miss all of you. I’ve started afresh and hope to reach out with out pissing off.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kitsy, is that you? I will pray for you. I am glad you are back writing. Keeping it real is a good thing but just take a few deep breaths. Starting fresh sounds wonderful. I felt the same today as I needed to start fresh from the direction I was going. Look forward to reading HolySmokeOnTheWater!

    Like

Leave a Reply

