Grief and Joy

hqdefault

The Gospel of Matthew 17:22-27 begins today with words from Jesus to His disciples that bring them much grief. Jesus says … “The Son of Man is to be handed over to men, and they will kill him, and he will be raised on the third day.” We know the whole story and have heard it many times, but imagine if we took a beloved family member to the doctor and was told that he or she was filled with cancer and had only a few days to live. I think we might be better able to understand what the disciples felt when hearing these words.

I guess my thoughts today are again on having faith and trust in the Lord. The disciples spent so much time with Jesus. They experienced His teachings and His miracles. They were around the most awesome man and now He tells them He is going to be killed! They seemed to have missed the end of what Jesus said or maybe didn’t understand about being raised on the third day. They would come to understand when Jesus arose from the dead and appeared to them.

Going back to the doctor analogy, if I have faith and trust in the Lord, and believe as I do in the mercy of God, I should also be rejoicing in my grief. That might seem strange but I would be joy filled in faith that my loved one is now with the Lord. My grief would be that I would miss seeing my loved one in the tangible ways I experienced when my loved one was alive.

Another reminder for me is that life is short and we do not know what will happen to any of us. Relationships are important and need continuous nurturing. That goes the same for me in my relationship with Jesus. Well, it is the start of a new week and I pray for blessings on all who take the time to read and write about their love for God. God bless you all.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Monday, August 8, 2016
Grief and Joy

8 thoughts on “Grief and Joy

  1. I don’t know how I would have survived the death of my loved ones without my faith that death is not the end, but just a transition to a better world. I feel sorry for people who have no faith or belief in life after death, because I wonder how they cope with grief and also the terror of their own inevitable demise. God bless you, too, Mike!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

