Living My Faith

hqdefault

I had a great day today. After work, I walked a few blocks to attend Mass. Today is first Friday and a privilege and honor to worship and adore the Sacred Heart of Jesus. I, too often do not write about my love for my catholic faith. I read a lot from the blogs of my protestant brothers and sisters as well as those of catholic blogs. Hopefully, by the grace of God, we learn much from and about each other. I know I learn much from you. The one common ground is that we love the Lord with all our hearts, souls, minds and strength.

There are some out there that comment very negatively when it comes to the word catholic. Honestly, it would be better to just delete my blog from your radar rather than waste time writing a nasty comment that I will delete and no one will ever see. The only good that comes out of it is that I actually take the time to pray for you and your unloving, un-Christlike attitude.

When people talk and share their love for God, protestant or catholic, it is a great blessing for me to read. I wish I had the time and stamina to read everything that comes across my reader. I guess my point for today’s reflection is that I am who I am, a catholic man who loves his church. I seek to live a sacramental life with all the glory to God. One may not agree or even understand what I share and maybe in time through our sharing, we will all have a better understanding of the truth God is revealing to us. I am just trying to live my faith and be a better person each day. I hope you are doing the same.

In my blogging world, I have relationships with the aforementioned, non-Christians and atheists. God has called me to love without conditions and the best way I can love is to pray to God the Father through Jesus Christ in the power of the Holy Spirit given to me. Whether or not you believe it will do anything, that is up to you. I am confident it will. I hope you all have a very enjoyable Labor Day Weekend here in the United States. God bless you.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Saturday, September 3, 2016
Living My Faith

3 thoughts on “Living My Faith

  1. “The best way I can love is to pray” You hit the nail on the head with the statement Mike. We must pray for one another and edify one another (Eph 4:29) This is our highest duty because both are sparked by love. Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can never understand why someone should care what another person’s religion is? As long as you’re not hurting other people, you should be able to believe what you want. I find other people’s beliefs fascinating, even when I don’t embrace them myself. I agree that we can learn a lot from one another’s faith traditions. If people can’t stand reading about the Catholic faith, they can always unsubscribe and read another blogger who shares their own narrow-minded, intolerant outlook, rather than “torture themselves” and attack you!

    I, too, am a “cradle Catholic,” attended Catholic elementary school, and love the rituals and rich traditions of the Catholic faith. I remember making the First Fridays and also the First Saturdays with my mother many years ago (not at the same time)!. I feel fortunate to have been raised a Catholic and still attend Mass and do the devotions I was raised on, even if I don’t always agree with everything about the Church. I liken it to loving your family even when you disagree with them sometimes. Jesus was perfect, but the human beings who follow Him are not, so mistakes will happen and disagreements will be always around, but we can still love one another as He instructed us to do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

