Learning To Carry Crosses

1b1c

I have been thinking much today, especially after reading some articles about St. Mother Teresa, that I cannot go wrong in my life if I do what I can out of love for God and others. It is too easy for me to think of me first and not what glorifies God by serving others. Opening today’s scripture passage from 1 Corinthians 6:1-11, St. Paul hit home with me. The jest of what he says on the surface made me think that he has a pretty low perception of lawyers and judges who are unbelievers when he makes the statement … If, therefore, you have courts for everyday matters, do you seat as judges people of no standing in the Church? I say this to shame you. Can it be that there is not one among you wise enough to be able to settle a case between brothers? But rather brother goes to court against brother, and that before unbelievers?”

St. Paul continues to tell us that it is a failure on our part to even have lawsuits against each other. The interesting part that spoke to my heart is what he says next … “Why not rather put up with injustice? Why not rather let yourselves be cheated?” I have spoken before about how hard it is to be a Christian and to carry our crosses. Isn’t that what Jesus did out of love for me? He put up with great injustices. He was cheated in so many ways. Any of us past the age of 33 have lived longer than Jesus on this earth.

So can I put up with things at work that tick me off and keep my mouth shut and put up with the injustice? Maybe instead of complaining and gossiping, I can find a more positive solution to what I consider an injustice. Can I love others who take advantage of my goodness? Can I love and care for others who do not care for me? The answer for me is that I better put up with injustice and being cheated if necessary. These are just some of my crosses I must accept to follow Jesus. Today is another opportunity, by the grace of God, to do my best to love and glorify God in my love for others.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Learning To Carry Crosses

2 thoughts on “Learning To Carry Crosses

  1. We are told that we must die to ourselves in order to live. For Christ. One of my favorite reminders of this us a little saying. If I am offended, what miserable piece of flesh is left in me that cab get offended?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderfully written!! And oh, how your message resonates in me! Thank you for the encouragement…to know another’s desire to look past the injustice, to instead carry the burdens this world can bring all for His sake brings me hope and helps me to place one more foot in front of the other. Hugs & Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

