A Firm Foundation

a-successful-person-is-one-who-can-lay-a-firm-foundation-with-the-bricks-that-others-throw-at-him-or-her-24

Praise the Lord! It is 12:30am as I finish writing for today’s scripture reflection. I started my drive to work yesterday morning at 6:30am, I just returned home at 11:30pm and I will be on the road to work today at 5am. I think how blessed I am. I believe there are many people wanting to work but do not have the opportunity. I have been given a great blessing to serve and I thank God.

Since it is late and I am very tired, I planned to write a very simple reflection of thanksgiving regardless of what I read. But as you would know it, my plans are not God’s plans. I am one that has been blessed to know my sins and realize that I am nothing without God and I need His love, grace and mercy to overcome my shortcomings. Tonight though, this passage from the Gospel of Luke 6:43-49 spoke to me in a way that is unfamiliar to me as I can see some growth in my desire to reflect Jesus.

This is what I read … I will show you what someone is like who comes to me, listens to my words, and acts on them. That one is like a man building a house, who dug deeply and laid the foundation on rock; when the flood came, the river burst against that house but could not shake it because it had been well built.” I feel like that man. I think I can take the abuse of those who speak ill of me. I can accept the criticism when people do not like what I write or speak. I can also continue to follow Jesus when people think I am foolish in my service to others.

Day in and day out I am in a position to serve. I look forward each day to whatever God wills for me to accomplish for His glory. I am going to stay positive because I can easily tell you the difficulties and challenges I face when I become selfish and not place others first but I will save that for another post. Today, I am filled with praise for my Lord, thanking Him again for every grace and blessing poured out upon me. Amen.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Saturday, September 10, 2016
A Firm Foundation

2 thoughts on “A Firm Foundation

Leave a Reply

