Faith or Fear

2014-08-18-fearorfaith22-thumb

You are attending a funeral. There is weeping as a mother has lost her only son and she will now be alone. It is heartbreaking that she is suffering so much. You pray for her and the repose of her son’s soul. A man walks toward the casket. He looks at the grieving mother and says, “do not weep.” He then steps forward, touches the casket and says, “Young man, I tell you, arise!”

What would you think? Maybe something like, security, help please, there is a crazy man in the church? Or maybe it would be embarrassing and you would hope that someone would tell the man to sit down and shut up. All of a sudden, “the dead man sat up and began to speak.”

Now what do you think? In a similar way from today’s Gospel reading from Luke 7:11-17, Jesus did the above and gave a grieving mother her son back. It says that “fear seized them all and they glorified God.” Would you be afraid? Because of my lack of faith, I would be terrified. Do I believe God could do this today? I do believe He can do anything. I just do not think He would do it today and there is my weakness in faith.

Lord, I pray for an increase in faith throughout the entire world. Help us with your grace to believe completely in your power of healing, love and mercy. My Lord and my God, I believe; help my unbelief. Amen

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Faith or Fear

4 thoughts on “Faith or Fear

Leave a Reply

