If The Shoe Fits, Wear It

big-shoes-to-fill-for-young-pastors

An old saying that I heard growing up was “if the shoe fits, wear it.” That was told to me when I should “own up” to something I might have said or done when I was trying to avoid taking responsibility for it. I was someway reminded of this when I read Galatians 1:23, when the churches of Judea were talking about Paul saying … “the one who once was persecuting us is now preaching the faith he once tried to destroy.” Paul had a tremendous conversion. He had to wear the shoes of persecuting Christians but by the grace of God, he was able to receive a new pair of shoes.

I had a tremendous conversion at the age of 33. I was not a believer. I just avoided religion and people who talked about God. My wife and I attended a Marriage Encounter Weekend, one I reluctantly went to with the firm resolve to walk out if they tried to force God down my throat. Like St. Paul, I was hit over the head with a two-by-four and I fell in love with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Now I wear a different pair of shoes as many of my staunch beliefs growing up have changed drastically. I am not one with all the answers in fact, I am learning daily. What I will profess is that I am trying my best every day to love the Lord with all my heart, soul, mind and strength. I am trying my best to love every person I come in contact with. These are very big shoes to fill and so far, I need to grow into them but once they fit, I will wear them for all eternity.

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Tuesday, October 4, 2016
If The Shoe Fits, Wear It

One thought on “If The Shoe Fits, Wear It

  1. I think your comment of “I am trying my best to love every person I come in contact with,” hits the nail on the head. I firmly believe we should always strive to learn more and to be a better reflection of who we are, and who we can be. Great post – thank you for these thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

