The Right To Choose

hqdefault

Tonight, scripture from Galatians 5:18-25 tells me that I have the right to choose. I do not mean to choose to murder millions of innocent babies in their mother’s womb, but to choose the fruit of the Spirit or the works of the flesh.

I am told … Now the works of the flesh are obvious: immorality, impurity, licentiousness, idolatry, sorcery, hatreds, rivalry, jealousy, outbursts of fury, acts of selfishness, dissensions, factions, occasions of envy, drinking bouts, orgies, and the like.” Personally, I battle many of them but do not want to choose any of them.

What I do want to choose is the fruit of the Spirit … love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.” Truthfully, you will find me lacking at times when I am in battle with the flesh and Spirit.

By the works of the flesh, we are warned, that we will not inherit the Kingdom of God. It seems clear to me that my choice, as an adopted son of God, is to accept my inheritance of Eternal Life with God. The opposite seems clearly foolish to me which brings to me a question of contemplation; why do I still give in to the temptation of the works of the flesh?

Image from google.com
Mike Burke; Wednesday, October 12, 2016
The Right To Choose

8 thoughts on “The Right To Choose

  1. SR says:

    Want your thoughts on this. Today I was listening to a Protestant Minster, and he said something I have been pondering all day. He said, “God created an angelic being called Lucifer. He believes this is who was sent to Adam and Eve to guard them and the Garden of Eden.” He also said, “Because Lucifer was so jealous of God that He set out to tempt Adam and Eve, and it was Adam and Eve who actually brought forth Satan and all his works, by giving into temptation.” He backed this up with Scripture out of Isaiah where it was talking about Lucifer, where Lucifer said more or less, not a direct quote. “Lucifer would set higher than God in the heavens.” I think he said Chapter 14.

    The Minister said, “We are actually the ones who gave/give birth to Satan, by us falling to temptation, hence, “work of the flesh.” Then of course he went on to say that, “Jesus gave us the authority over him (Satan) if we would just stand up and take it.” Just wanted to know what you think, cause this has been bothering me.

    You know to think of sin is one thing, which is bad, but to think of sin as giving “birth to devil,” that ought to make us take a step back and ponder a few things. Don’t ya think? Just want your thoughts on it. Thanks and God Bless, SR

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi SR. I may be one of the worst to try to explain theory or to refute proof texting as many people do without taking the complete context into account. One thing that makes me love our Catholic faith is that we do have an authority in the Magisterium of the Church.

      My initial reaction to what the Minister said was “does this really even matter.” Satan was jealous of God and said no to God in what he was asked to do. It doesn’t sound right to me that Satan was sent to protect Adam and Eve because he rejected God and was cast out of Heaven and fallen to earth. It would seem like his only mission would be to tempt them and the rest of mankind to reject God.

      Adam & Eve fell, concupiscence, our inclination to sin became a reality, and it has been our battle ever since.

      I am not even sure that what I am saying makes any sense. What I know is that I love the Lord but I am tempted all the time and I fall, way too much but God loves me and His mercy is greater than my sin. So as far as I can understand, the liar is a loser and will have no place in my life.

      Sorry for the long winded thought but I really am probably the wrong person to ask for a good answer. Thanks though for thinking enough of me to ask my thoughts. God Bless you, Mike.

      Like

  2. SR says:

    Thanks so much for taking the time to give me your thoughts. The reason I ask you at times, is because I like your honesty and the way you think! 🙂 Hope you and the grandbaby are having a wonderful weekend. Again thank you and God Bless, SR

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

