Like Father, Like Son

Jesus-and-His-Father

Jesus, in today’s Gospel from John 12:44-50 tells us that he did not speak on his own but that his Father who sent him commanded him as to what to say and speak. So Jesus says, And I know that his commandment is eternal life. So what I say, I say as the Father told me.”

What I hear from this passage is that in Jesus’ obedience to his Father and our Father, through him we find the way to eternal life. That is what our Father wants for us and gives to us, eternal life through Jesus who suffered, died and rose from the dead for us so that we might live forever.

Eternal life sounds pretty awesome to me! But I realize that free will still comes into play and I have a choice. Eternal life is mine but will it be with God forever or without him forever? The narrow road through Jesus would be my choice so like Jesus, I must bear my crosses to glorify him just as he glorified his Father. May God have mercy on us all as we seek to follow and get to know our Father through his Son Jesus. Amen.

Mike Burke; Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Like Father, Like Son

Leave a comment